Introduction of country representatives

Introduction of new country representative (8): England

England’s new country representative:

Jessica Bodgener, jbodgener<at>yahoo.co.uk

Jessica Bodgener

EWDA Student Chapter facebook group for the UK:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/537749103028371/members/

My name is Jessica Bodgener and I am a recent graduate of the Masters in Wild Animal Health run by the Royal Veterinary College and the Zoological Society of London. Prior to this I completed my undergraduate training in Veterinary Medicine at the University of Glasgow and spent a number of years in practice. I have always had a strong interest in conservation and endangered species management and I am currently working on a PhD proposal in this area.

I was introduced to the EWDA whilst completing my masters and was fortunate enough to attend the 2014 conference in Edinburgh. It was a really positive experience, such a welcoming community and there was a real push to get students involved and speaking to established researchers. I came away thinking ‘Why am I only finding out about this now?’

In my new role as a country rep for the student chapter I hope to spread the word and get more people involved, not just vets and biologists but people from all sorts of disciplines that are interested in conservation and wild animal research. I hope, through online forums (a facebook group) and live events, to build a community of early career researchers.

I look forward to hearing from you all and hopefully meeting you in person. EWDA is not only a valuable source of information and support, it’s also good fun and a great place to meet new friends. Membership to the student chapter is free! So come on what’s stopping you? Get involved, you never know where it could lead.

Still EWDA country reps for the UK wanted! Jessica will cover for the open positions in the UK e.g. Scotland etc., until the positions have been filled. Apply now!

Leave a Reply

