Introduction of country representatives

Introduction of new country representatives (14): The Netherlands

Please welcome our new EWDA student country rep in the Netherlands:

Valérie Baede​: v.o.baede<at>uu.nl

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hi everyone,

I am honoured to introduce myself as the Dutch EWDA student rep! I am a student of veterinary medicine at Utrecht University, currently finishing the first year of my MSc in Farm animal health and veterinary public health. Previously, I studied biology for a year and got interested in population dynamics and ecosystem health. So when I got into vet school, I was especially interested in the interaction between animals and their environment. This evolved to a fascination for the role of wildlife as reservoir of infectious diseases. Later, I would like to work in disease ecology and conduct research on the livestock-wildlife interface.

A few years ago, I joined Archaeopteryx, the Dutch student association for birds and exotic animals, and got the opportunity to organise lectures with their Wildlife and Aquafauna working groups. Later, I joined the board and learned even more about wildlife and organising wildlife events. Through Archaeopteryx I worked with various wildlife organisations in the Netherlands and hope to continue working with these organisations in my position as a EWDA country rep.

Last March, I came into contact with the WDA and EWDA on the IOHC2015 and was able to join the 6th Student workshop. This excellent workshop inspired me to become a EWDA country rep.

As a EWDA student rep, I hope to introduce Dutch vet students to wildlife medicine and wildlife research and bring them into contact with wildlife professionals, to experience the importance of wildlife medicine in ecosystem health and One Health. As a first step, I would like to organise a lecture event for students with some professional Dutch EWDA members.

If you are a Dutch vet student and interested in EWDA or wildlife opportunities in the Netherlands, don’t hesitate to contact me!

Valérie Baede

Utrecht University

v.o.baede<at>uu.nl

Leave a Reply

