News

Introducing England’s new country reps

Unfortunately our previous country rep, Jessica Bodgener, had to step out of her role. She has done an incredible job promoting wildlife health and the EWDA student chapter; she even started a Facebook group – the EWDA Student Chapter UK. She is still actively involved in wildlife health and keeps promoting the Student Chapter whenever she gets a chance. We want to thank her for all her dedication an wish her all the best in her next adventure!

However we got two brand new country reps for England! I am sure they will keep on doing a brilliant job! Meet Stuart Patterson and Harriet Cock:

Stuart Patterson:

Hi, my name is Stuart, and I am one of the EWDA Student reps for the UK. After travelling to France for the EWDA Student workshop in 2015, I decided that this organisation probably best fitted my interests, and so I was keen to get involved. I’m currently dividing my time between London, and field work in South Africa. As I write, the Meerkat population that we study here has been reduced by around 50% over the last few months (known study population, as opposed to total population, but still remarkable), and the local bat-eared fox population has suffered terrible losses over the last year. The former is likely to be due to drought, directly, or compounding other problems, and the latter is almost certainly associated with an outbreak of rabies. These two examples though highlight that wild populations can fluctuate greatly and that disease can be an important component. Going forward I hope to look at how control of wildlife disease can and should play in conservation.

I trained as a vet in the UK, and spent five years working in farm animal practice. I returned to college in 2012 completing masters degrees in Veterinary Epidemiology and Veterinary Conservation Medicine. I am now a PhD student at the Royal Veterinary College looking at targeted interventions for wildlife disease control, and whether these offer a practical tool that may be more easily applied than more general strategies. I have been an EWDA member since 2012.

stuart

Harriet Cock:

Hi everyone! My name is Harriet and am currently in my fourth year, studying Veterinary Science at the University of Bristol. Although i enjoy companion animal medicine, my main interest lies with Wildlife and Conservation Medicine, and i hope to work in this field in the future.
I have completed many placements both at home in the UK and abroad relating to wildlife, conservation and exotics veterinary work. Seeing practice and working alongside vets at Bristol Zoo and Chessington Zoo has been really insightful and allowed me to work with a wide variety of animals. I have also enjoyed placements at referral exotics veterinary practices and wild animal rescue centres where I learnt so much by being hands on. In addition to EMS placements i currently volunteer in the hospital room at Secret World Rescue where they take in injured or orphaned wildlife and release them once rehabilitated. Attending conferences such as the British Wildlife Rehabilitation Symposium, Bristol Zoo Conservation talks, One Health Conference, and many University Veterinary and Zoological Society symposiums has allowed me to further both my knowledge and interest in related topics.
I have been lucky enough to have travelled to countries such as Cambodia, Namibia and South Africa where i fell in love with the diversity of wildlife and the potential for veterinary conservation work.
Last year i was the Vice President of the Bristol Veterinary and Zoological Society, being very involved in setting up talks and trips. By being a UK rep, i’d like to increase the awareness of the EWDA to other vet and biology students and invite speakers to tell current students about the opportunities available in wildlife work and research.

Harriet

Leave a Reply

