News

Introduction of new Hungarian Country Representative: Katalin Horvath

We are very happy to welcome our new Country Representative for Hungary: Katalin Horvath! Katalin attended the EWDA Conference last year in Berlin and was inspired to apply for the Country Representative position.  It is great to see interest for the EWDA Student Chapter from the East of Europe, as we aim to involve these countries more in our network. We look forward to helping Katalin set up activities in Hungary.

Please find Kata’s introduction below:

kat

“Hi everyone,

My name is Kata Horvath. I have always aspired to be a veterinarian, however after high school I decided to deviate a little from the plan and I ended up studying in the United States for the next couple of years. In 2013, I graduated from the University of Miami with a bachelor’s degree in Marine Science and Biology. As I still wanted to become a veterinarian I enrolled in the veterinary program in Budapest, Hungary, where I’m now a fourth year student. I have always been enchanted by the zoological and wildlife aspect of veterinary medicine. This determination was just further strengthened by gaining insight into population dynamics, and how ecosystems work, and what an important role they have in the epidemiological aspects of diseases. Entering vet school I was unsure on how can I incorporate wildlife and zoological work into my studies. In search of answers I kept travelling to conferences and symposiums and tried to figure out what fellow students do to achieve these goals.

I did externships with ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo, where I could gain insight into the everyday work of zoo veterinarians, learn about techniques and procedures when handling wild animals, and see their involvement in conservation medicine. I was part of the pre-release health screening of Partula snails, that were bred at several zoos worldwide and screened at ARTIS Zoo before being shipped to Tahiti as part of a repopulation effort. We also did research on examining metabolic bone disease in a species of toad endangered in the Netherlands, to optimize their breeding and rearing circumstances and to ensure the release of healthy individuals when establishing natural populations.

I first heard about the EWDA at a student symposium organized by Glasgow University

Veterinary Zoological Society in early 2016 and I immediately got interested in joining. The symposium was in itself a great example showing me how universities can have student groups centered around the same interests, and achieve something great together. I became a member of EWDA and was fortunate to attend 12th EWDA Conference in Berlin last summer. The conference opened up my eyes to the many areas of wildlife work I didn’t know I could be involved in and it was very motivating to be able talk to many great professionals in the field, learn about their own very different paths through the journey of wildlife medicine and be inspired by the endless opportunities out there.

As a country representative, first I would like to spread the word about the EWDA and wildlife opportunities to students at my university. I would like to gather a group of vet students interested in wildlife work and enable them to connect with students in other fields, as well as teachers and scientist and thus learn about researches, externship and internship opportunities, and find their path to wildlife and conservation medicine.

I’m looking forward to this new adventure and hope to be able to work with you all in the future!”

Leave a Reply

