News

Introducing new UK Country Representative (3/3): Chloe Pierce (England)

chloe

Hello Fellow Wildlife Enthusiasts,

My name is Chloe Pierce and I am a veterinary student at the Royal Veterinary College in London. Growing up in Canada, I have always been fascinated with wildlife and hope to one day become a wildlife veterinarian. I also hold a BSc in Zoology from Aberystwyth University and a MSc in the Control of Infectious Diseases in Animals from the RVC.

During my MSc research project, I was lucky enough to work at the Animal and Plant Health Agency in the lab responsible for passive rabies surveillance in bats. My project was looking for the presence of coronaviruses in the bat samples that were submitted to the program driven by the emergence of the novel Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV) in 2012. It was a fascinating opportunity to learn about the importance of effective wildlife disease surveillance for zoonotic and economic implications.

I would like to continue the hard work Stuart and Harriet have already done by promoting the EWDA Student Chapter to include all students interested in wildlife and conservation, such as biological/environmental/zoological students. I believe coming from both a biological and veterinary background I could help the two communities come together. I have enjoyed the various wildlife and zoological conferences and symposiums I have attended and am excited to take part in planning one for the EWDA. I hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

