News

Application EWDA Student Chapter Board – Communications Officer

Rebecca D. Berg, DVM

Phd-Student, Dep. of Plant and Environmental Sciences, UCPH

17353624_10154682863334272_5674943655607046743_n

Hi, my name is Rebecca Dorph Berg. I am a veterinarian and graduated from University of Copenhagen (UCPH) in July 2015. Currently I am working on my Phd on health and diseases in Greenland muskox populations, which is a collaboration between UCPH and the Greenland Institute of Natural Resources. I focus on infectious diseases (parasitology in particular), disease transmission in the livestock-wildlife interface and food safety. Furthermore, there will be some aspects of the effect of climate change and possible emerging diseases.

I became a member of the WDA and EWDA in 2015 during a NOVA summer course on Nordic Zoo and Wildlife Medicine. With the support of new friends who shared my passion for wildlife, and inspiration from the teachers on the wildlife course I realised, that working with wildlife is not a dead-end or an impossible goal. However, it will undoubtedly take a lot of hard work. Shortly after this, I started working on possible PhD-proposals in my free time.

My first direct contact to the EWDA was at the conference in august 2016. It was a fantastic experience and it further supported me in my belief, that this is the direction I want to go. It was extremely inspiring learning about areas of wildlife research I never had thought existed or was even possible.

In November the same year, I attended the Muskox Health Symposium in Calgary, Canada. Here, it once again stood clear to me how important interdisciplinary work, availability, contact and networking is for the field of Conservation Medicine/One Health/Planetary Health or whatever we want to call this interest and passion for turning the world into a greener and more diverse place.

I would love to be a greater part of the EWDA, and hereby help increasing the interest of, and focus on the extremely important and fascinating work wildlife professionals and students do within wildlife research. As a member of the EWDA-SC board, I will work towards increasing the outreach of the organisation towards students in Europe. As a board, we should make the website more user-friendly and in the end create opportunities for online learning session, webinars, lectures etc.

The upcoming student workshop on One Health should have wildlife as its central focus, and from there look at the One Health perspective. Many other organisations work with One Health, but have wildlife as a side notion, and often with a negative view of wildlife being nothing more than a reservoir for human disease. The WDA/EWDA’s focus on the value of wildlife, and how wildlife health interact with livestock, humans, and environment is what makes the organisation unique, and I believe that we should treasure that!

All the best,

Rebecca

 

 

Leave a Reply

